Apple iPhone 11 users can disable UWB in iOS 13.3.1 Beta 2

user feedback that even after the location service is turned off, Apple iPhone 11 and 11 Pro can still track the user’s location and other private data. In the latest iOS 13.3.1 beta 2, Apple added a switch for UWB function.

According to foreign media reports, some users have recently discovered some changes in iOS 13.3.1 Beta 2: Users can now disable the ultra-wideband feature. When the UWB feature is turned off, Apple informs users that turning off the “Network and Wireless” location may affect Bluetooth, Wi-Fi and UWB performance.

Earlier users found that the iPhone 11 Pro will continue to track the user’s location even after turning off all available location service switches (except the main switch). As the reasons are not clear, a series of concerns have been raised.

At first Apple stated that they found no problems: “After the location service is enabled, it is normal for the location service icon to appear in the status bar. For system services that have not been switched in Settings, the icon will be displayed.” Later Apple Further added: The UWB chip in the new iPhone has not been widely recognized worldwide, so the iPhone 11 uses location services to check whether UWB is available. An Apple spokesman said: “UWB’s location data is not uploaded to Apple servers, and Apple does not collect user location data.” Finally, in December last year, Apple said it would bring a switch that allows customers to turn off ultra-wideband functionality completely .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: